What is Ele’s Place?

Ele’s Place is a nonprofit, community based organization dedicated to creating awareness of and support for grieving children and their families. Through peer support group programs, Ele’s Place helps children to cope with the death of a parent, sibling or someone else close to them. Before coming to Ele’s Place, many grieving children feel alone and keep their feelings inside, not wanting to burden their parents or other family members. Often, friends don’t seem to understand if they haven’t had a similar experience. But each week at Ele’s Place, hundreds of grieving children find a warm and welcoming place to meet new friends who really understand how they feel, and begin to heal after the death of a person who is close to them.

Lansing
Ann Arbor
Grand Rapids
Flint

Staff

Headquarters Staff

Dan Layman, President & CEO
Kate Powers, COO & Chief Development Officer
Teri Dodson, Director of Operations
Lisa Fanzini, Director of Finance
Courtney Bradford, Grant Coordinator
Sally Hamlin, Finance Assistant
Hilary Lopez, Human Resources Coordinator

Lansing Staff

Kristine Kuhnert
Director
kkuhnert@elesplace.org

Kelly Koerner, MA, LPC, NCC
Program Director
kkoerner@elesplace.org

Administrative Staff

Monica Fanzini
Administrative Assitant
mfanzini@elesplace.org

Cindy Kangas
Director of Development
ckangas@elesplace.org

Barb Maki
Administrative Assistant
bmaki@elesplace.org

Sue Sanford
Volunteer Coordinator
ssanford@elesplace.org

Bereavement Coordinators

Laurie Walter Forstat, LMSW
Bereavement/School Coordinator
lforstat@elesplace.org

Kim Breukink, LLMSW
kbreukink@elesplace.org

Molly Dean, MA, LPC
mdean@elesplace.org

Alexa Powell, LLMSW
apowell@elesplace.org

Chloe Silm, LMSW
csilm@elesplace.org

Nicole Vilminot, LCSW-C, LMSW
nvilminot@elesplace.org 

Ann Arbor Staff

Monica Brancheau
Director
mbrancheau@elesplace.org

Peggy Galimberti, LMSW, ACSW
Program Director
pegalimberti@elesplace.org

Administrative Staff

Bree Arvai
Director of Development
barvai@elesplace.org

Stacey Bodner
Event Coordinator
sbodner@elesplace.org

Susan Kaercher
Program Assistant/Administrative Assistant
skaercher@elesplace.org

Luna Koepping
Office Manager
lkoepping@elesplace.org

Bereavement Coordinators

Katie Brickman, LMSW
Bereavement/School Coordinator
kbrickman@elesplace.org

Hannah Brown, LMSW
hbrown@elesplace.org

Charlotte Cally, LLMSW
ccally@elesplace.org

Leela Kausch, MA, LMSW
lkausch@elesplace.org

Karen Kohn, LLMSW
kkohn@elesplace.org

Grand Rapids Staff

Jaime Counterman
Director
jcounterman@elesplace.org

Julie DeJong, LMSW
Program Director
jdejong@elesplace.org

Administrative Staff

Alyx Newton
Fundraising & Administrative Coordinator
anewton@elesplace.org

Bereavement Coordinators

Michaela Ayew-ew, MA, LLPC
mayewew@elesplace.org

Karen Ketterer, LLMSW
kketterer@elesplace.org

Flint Staff

Amy Krug
Director
akrug@elesplace.org

Tracy Payton-Lester, LMSW
Program Director
tpaytonlester@elesplace.org

Bereavement Coordinator

Mallory Senn-Flinn, LLMSW
msennflinn@elesplace.org